Romance Weekly #LoveChatWrite

RW Banner

Do you like to read romance novels? Wouldn’t you like to know more about your favorite authors? Well you came to the right place! Join the writers of Romance Weekly as we go behind the scenes of our books and tell all…..About our writing of course! Every week we’ll answer questions and after you’ve enjoyed the blog on this site we’ll direct you to another. So come back often for a thrilling ride! Tell your friends and feel free to ask us questions in the comment box.

shutterstock_61320259

I’m back.  These last few weeks have been rather hectic what with school and all, but I’m back on track with blog posts and writing.  I almost feel normal again.  Well, as normal as one can feel.

So, without further adieu, here are this week’s Romance Weekly mini-interview questions.  They are brought to us by the lovely romance author Meggan Connors.

1. Do you have a recurring theme in your work, either intentional or unintentional? What is it and why do you think you chose that particular theme?
I’ve been told by close friends that I do have a recurring theme that unintentionally rears its head in my work.  Because of my own self-image, I tend to make the women of my stories struggle with the same self-image issues.  Not that I’m airing dirty laundry here, but I’ve never held myself among the beautiful.  Brains were always my thing.  So, when it comes to the women I write, I write what I know.  Women who struggle with their self-image but will often overcome their shortcomings in the end.

2. Do you carefully plot your stories, or do you plot as you write? Why do you think this particular ethos works for you??
I use three different methods to plot out my stories.  The first is simply writing the plot idea in my journal.  It doesn’t mean that the plot will remain the same, but it at least gets the idea out of my head and on paper before I forget it.  The second is to type up a premise.  Again, this will and does change, but it takes the journal entry and expands on the idea.  And finally, I write a complete outline.  This outline not only includes chapter by chapter how I see the story unfolding, but it also includes character descriptions, personalities, and backstories.

This sounds anal, and believe me I know it, but without this, I’m lost.  I write chronologically, and this format keeps me on track.  I can always go back and change things, and I have many times, but this is like a road map – I might get lost, but it will always lead me back to my true north.

3. Is there a particular genre (within romance) you could never write? Why?

mystery-machine002

I’m sure there are many out there that I wouldn’t touch with someone else’s computer, but the first that comes to mind is mystery.  I have no qualms in solving puzzles, I even enjoy it, but writing one is a whole other ballgame for me.  It takes a crafty person to map out a great mystery, and I admire those individuals (even envy them) for having such a talent, but as for me, I don’t think I would succeed as a romance mystery writer.

shutterstock_61320259

Well, that’s all for this week.  Check in next week for the next installment.  I have loads of fun doing this, and I hope you have just as much fun reading them.  And make sure to also check out Kate Robbins’ answers for this week.  If you want, even leave her a little love letting her know you stopped by.

Until next time!
xx
~J

3 thoughts on “Romance Weekly #LoveChatWrite

Leave a Reply

