Writing Process Blog Tour

Thank you so much to Sydney Logan for inviting me to be apart of Writing Process Blog Tour.  Here, I get to talk about my writing process and my upcoming projects.  After my ramblings are complete, I will tag three more authors who will post their answers next week.But before we start, let me talk about Sydney.

Sydney Logan is an Amazon bestselling author who may or may not have an unhealthy obsession with music (seriously, she loves everything from Eminem to Johnny Cash). She also has an amazing husband and a ridiculously spoiled cat, both of whom join her in soaking up the stunning views from their East Tennessee front porch.

Check out Sydney’s blog stop post and let her know you stopped by.

Now….
What are you working on?
Currently, I’m working on book two in The Truth in Lies Saga, The Certainty of Deception.  It always amazes me how much there is to writing a book.  And every time I think things are done, I read through a chapter and find something I missed or can add…or subtract.  This book is scheduled to come out this summer along with another project I’m working on.  Renegade is a story I’m including in an anthology with B.L. Wilde, Jo Matthews, Mary Elizabeth, and Sarah Elizabeth.  Both Mary and Sarah are being tagged as next week’s tour stops.
How does my work differ from others in my genre?
I would have to say that my works are dialog and setting centered.  I feel that a good conversation can bring a reader into a scene by making them feel like a participant rather than a spectator.  I allude to sexual content, and will even be branching into the erotic romance later this year with another book, but sex isn’t the basis for the story.  Depth, angst, and drama are my focal points and all of that is conveyed through extensive dialog and scene building.
Why do I write what I do?
Who doesn’t love a good romance filled with characters that you can relate to?  I know I do.  Relating to a character is fundamental to any good story.  I love knowing that I have written characters that people can see being friends with in real life.  Plus, adding the right amount of emotion where you can feel what the character is feeling and walk away from the book with the feeling you’ve made a new friend, well, I can’t think of a better thing to read or write.
How does my writing process work?
For starters I keep a journal.  Whenever an idea hits me, it immediately goes into my journal.  Usually its a quick entry, nothing detailed, but when the time comes, I sit down and write out a detailed premise.  After that I work out characters and even outline the story.  Do I follow the outline?  Most times I can say I don’t.

It acts more as a guide.  I really allow the story to guide me.  My characters know where they’re going.  I’m merely their conduit.  I’m what you might call a chronological writer.  I write scenes in the order of which they happen.  I rarely write out of order and if I do it’s because I’m stuck.  To be honest, nine times out of ten, the chapter I write out of order never gets used or at least not in its entirety.  It’s only there to help me get the creative juices flowing again.  My scenes come to me like a movie.  I can see each motion, each word, each interaction between my characters.  It’s strange but for me they play out like a movie in my head and that’s why my writing is so dialog oriented.  I will write and rewrite until I feel its done.  My editor and a very dear friend of mine reads along with me, and will make suggestions as they see fit.  When we all agree its done, and I can read through it without wanting to change a million things, that’s when we do the final edits and release it to the public.  I feel lucky to have such a wonderful crew to help me with something I’m so passionate about.

Well, that’s all there is about me.  Here are the next three authors on the tour.  They are all wonderful ladies and I can’t wait to read their answers next week.
Mary Elizabeth is an up and coming author who finds words in chaos, writing stories about the skeletons hanging in your closets. Known as The Realist, she is one half of The Elizabeths—a duo brave enough to never hide the truth. Her anticipated debut novel Innocents (Dusty #1), co-written with The Poet, Sarah Elizabeth, will be released July 14, 2014. Inspired by the broken lyrics of a single song and the idea that monsters have softer sides, “Dusty” was originally posted for free and had been read over a million and a half times. Working day and night, the authors hope that the published edition will be just as loved. 

Mary was born and raised in Southern California. She is a wife, mother of four beautiful children, and dog tamer to one enthusiastic Pit Bull and a prissy Chihuahua. She’s a hairstylist by day but contemporary fiction, new adult author by night. Mary can often be found finger twirling her hair and chewing on a stick of licorice while writing and rewriting a sentence over and over until it’s perfect. She discovered her talent for tale-telling accidentally, but literature is in her chokehold. And she’s not letting go until every story is told. 

Sarah Elizabeth: 
love’s listener is a lone wolf born a unicorn with a red panda soul and a heart she drew herself. friend, sister, elizabeth, and true love, she’s a messenger that makes art with words and love with art. she’s been yelly, yellowglue, squeak, cuppycakes, precious pinks, warren, little grey, a girl named ben, and sarahbear.  she’s a synesthete, a heart junkie, a truth seeker and secret keeper. poet half, sun half, and total scripturient, Sarah’s work is equal parts her passion, sanctuary, precipice, vice, adventure, restorative, deliverance, and joy. she currently resides in Kansas City, and she’s bringing Rococo back.
M. B. Feeney is an army brat who finally settled down in Birmingham, UK with her other half, two kids and a dog. Currently at university studying for her BA (Hons) in primary teaching, she procrastinates on her assignments by listening to music of all genres and trying to get ‘just one more paragraph’ written on whichever WIP is open. She is also a serious doodler and chocoholic. Writing has been her one true love ever since she could spell, and publishing is the final culmination of her hard work and ambition.
Her publishing career began with two novellas, and she currently has a novel under way whilst Honour, a compilation of her own military based shorts, is due for release 1st November 2013. Always having something on the go can often lead to block which eventually gets dissolved by good music and an even better book.
18 thoughts on “Writing Process Blog Tour

  1. Pingback: Cover Reveal: BRANDED- A Bad Boys Anthology |

  2. Pingback: Cover Reveal: Branded Anthology | Musings From An Addicted Reader

  3. Pingback: COVER REVEAL~ BRANDED BY B.L. WILDE | My Book Addiction and More!

  4. Pingback: Cover Reveal – Branded by B.L.Wilde, Jeanne McDonald, Jo Matthews, Mary Elizabeth, Sarah Elizabeth | Carrie Elks - Author

  5. Pingback: Cover Reveal: Branded | The Boyfriend Bookmark

  6. Pingback: Cover Reveal – Branded – An Anthology | Mich's Book Reviews

  7. Pingback: ‘Good Girls LOVE Bad Boys…’ ~~Cover Reveal~~ Branded (A Bad Boys Anthology) by B.L. Wilde; Jeanne McDonald; Jo Matthews; Mary Elizabeth & Sarah Elizabeth | My Family's Heart

  8. Pingback: Branded Cover Reveal | Jude's books & blog

  9. Pingback: COVER REVEAL – Branded: A Bad Boys Anthology | Lily Loves Indie

  10. Pingback: Cover Reveal: Branded by: @BeeWilde1 @TeamSmella23 @JeanneMcdonald_ @JoMatthews82 @LittleGrayAche | Lore Ree

  11. Pingback: Branded Cover Reveal

  12. Pingback: Review: Branded A Bad Boys Anthology | readinginsarahscorner

  13. Pingback: Spotlight: BRANDED: A BAD BOYS ANTHOLOGY #BadBoys | Tattooed Book Review

  14. Pingback: Branded: A Bad Boy Anthology Release | Random Musings

  15. Pingback: Adult content~BRANDED A BAD BOYS ANTHOLOGY BY B.L. WILDE, JEANNE MCDONALD, JO MATTHEWS, MARY ELIZABETH, AND SARAH ELIZABETH… | My Book Addiction and More!

  16. Pingback: Blog Tour: Branded (A Bad Boys Anthology) by B.L. Wilde, Jeanne McDonald, Jo Matthews, Mary Elizabeth and Sarah Elizabeth | The Boyfriend Bookmark

  17. Pingback: Branded Bad Boys Anthology Book Tour and Review | Musings From An Addicted Reader

  18. Pingback: Book Tour – Branded, A Bad Boy’s Anthology | Carrie Elks - Author

Leave a Reply

