Romance Weekly #LoveChatWrite

RW Banner
Do you like to read romance novels? Wouldn’t you like to know more about your favorite authors? Well you came to the right place! Join the writers of Romance Weekly as we go behind the scenes of our books and tell all…..About our writing of course! Every week we’ll answer questions and after you’ve enjoyed the blog on this site we’ll direct you to another. So come back often for a thrilling ride! Tell your friends and feel free to ask us questions in the comment box.
Welcome to this week’s Romance Weekly Q/A.  Our questions today come from the lovely Beth Carter.  So, without further ado, here we go!
1. What is your favorite aspect of writing a novel?  Dialogue?  Setting?  Conflict?  Narration?  Explain.
For me it’s writing a dialogue.  I enjoy creating characters that when people read them they feel as though they found their new best friend.  The best way to accomplish this is through a great dialogue.  By making the characters talk and act as any normal, everyday person would, they become real to the reader.  At least for me they do.  And before you ask – yes, I do talk to my characters.  I’ve been prone to even argue with them.  Ask Lucy and Jude (from Renegade).  I argued with them until the very end about how I would finalize Renegade.  But in the end, they were right.  *grumbles* Stupid characters.  They think they know everything.
2. How do you choose the setting for your plot?  Are they always similar settings or does it vary?  (i.e. small town, big city, castle, etc.)
I’d like to think that mine change.  In A Ray of Hope, we were set in New York City during one of the biggest crisis in American History.  For The Truth in Lies, I placed Drew and McKenzie on the sandy beaches of Florida; however, I changed their scenery for The Certainty of Deception by setting them in the windy, Southern city of Amarillo, Texas.  And I will once again change things up in book three, The Truth Be Told, by basing them in Drew’s hometown, Boston, Mass..  Renegade was the first time I ever made up a city of my own, but even it was derived of a real life place.  I think the setting helps set the tone for the characters.  It puts them in a certain place and time for things to happen, and if those same incidents happened to anyone else, somewhere else…well, the results would’ve turned out much different.  Don’t you think?
3. I’m a big six-word memoir fan.  (Hemingway even wrote one.)  Describe your writing day using just six words.
Write-edit-repeat-write-edit-repeat
HAHA! Yep.  Now you know my little secret.  Until the story is done, I ‘m constantly changing, constantly rearranging, and I keep plugin’ away until I think it’s as perfect as I can get it.
Here’s until next time.  In the meantime, go check out Susan Peterson Wisnewski’s answers to these questions.  While you’re there, show her some love and leave a comment to her post.
xx
~Jeanne
5 thoughts on “Romance Weekly #LoveChatWrite

  1. Oh my, I talk to my characters all the time and yes, even argue with them from time to time. My family believes I’m one step away from the funny farm LOL. I really enjoyed your blog!!!

Leave a Reply

