Saturday Blogger Spotlight with Kayla of Kayla the Bibliophile



We authors owe a lot to the wonderful bloggers who promote our works.  They make sure that our wonderful readers keep up to date on our when, where’s, how’s, and why’s.  There is so much that goes into a blog from creating the post, finding the right artwork, reading books, networking, conducting interviews, etc., and I want to share with you the people behind these wonderful sites.  Bloggers are a great asset to authors and readers, so, every Saturday, I will be spotlighting one of these fantastic sites by interviewing them and spreading some appreciation for all their hard work.



Word of warning:  There’s no filter here.  Some questions may be graphic and inappropriate language is to be expected.  Read at your own risk!

This week I am spotlighting Kayla with Kayla the Bibliophile & Sassy Sara.  I had the pleasure of meeting Kayla at the Indie Author Mash Up in Houston last month.  We instantly hit it off.  She’s funny, sassy, and absolutely adorable.  Her answers have me cracking up, so without further ado, I give you Kayla!

Let’s start with the basic stuff first:

 

Tell us a little bit about yourself?  
My blog name is Kayla the Bibliophile, and I’m also a Senior Editor at Hot Tree Editing, even though it’s out of Australia and I live in the country of Texas 😉  The wizardry of the internet, right? Hehe I have two little princesses, ages 7 and 5, and a hotty, tatted-up alpha hubby.

 

Where are you from?  
I’m from Fayetteville, NC, but moved to Houston to be with my honey 5 years ago.

 

What do you do besides read and promote authors? (which by the way, thank you so much for all you do.  We authors can’t express our appreciation enough)  
First, thank YOU for writing such amazing books and giving me something meaningful to do with my life. As I said before, I’m an editor, so I pretty much eat, sleep, and breathe books all day every day. I recently started working for Romantic Times, and will be helping put together a new Indie section for the magazine, as well as an annual satellite signing in Houston for both indie and published authors. <~~~life made

 

Married?  Divorced?  Single?  In a serious relationship with your current book boyfriend?
I am married to the sexiest man alive, who has no qualms about me taking pictures practically dry-humping male models at author signings. He knows he’s my soulmate and it’s all in good fun, but also knows if it was the other way around, I’d kill him ❤

 

What made you decide to become a blogger?
Actually, that’s a funny story. I really didn’t mean to become one! I’ve read books religiously since I was little, but got into romance when I was just 12 years old. My mom never had to give me “the talk” because I snuck off with her Sandra Brown books hehehe… Anywho, so I’ve always consumed books like a life force, and all my friends and family would call or text me at all hours asking what they should read next. So I made my little page as a place they could go to read my reviews and decide what they’d want to read, instead of asking me at 3 in the morning because “OMG! I just finished my book, and now I have nothing to do with my life!!! Give me something else, QUICK!” Yep, totally happened…several times. Well, then a few of the authors saw my page after I’d reviewed their books, and they’d share me…and then their fans would LIKE me…and then all of a sudden, holy shit-balls…I have 7,000 followers?! WTF, mate?! And so I went from being a stay at home mom with a one-click problem to working for the woman who discovered Fabio back in the 80s. #miracleshappen

 

Were there any blogs that inspired you when you started?
I’ve followed Maryse since…only God knows when. I used to go there to find out the reading orders of my favorite series.


What is your favorite part about being a blogger?
The best thing to ever come from blogging for me has been the discovery of the indie world. I never even knew indie authors existed until I started blogging, and now, most of my faves are self-published.

 

What are you currently reading?
Several. I’m editing JC Cliff’s book 2 in her Blyss series called Blyssful Lies, also editing Milly Ly’s debut novel. I’m listening to Brie Embraces the Heart of Submission by Red Phoenix on Audible, which is also known as The After Graduation Series. OMG, ya’ll. If you know me, you know my obsession with Brie and her creator Red. If not and you decide to follow me, be prepared to have her shoved down your throat. But that’s okay, because there’s a chapter that teaches you the proper way to deep throat. Yep, I said it. And I’m also reading Deliver by Pam Godwin at night before bed on my Kindle.

 

What is your favorite genre(s)?
CAPTIVE ROMANCE. End of.

 

Name a few (and I use that term liberally) of your favorite books.
*The Dark Duet Series by CJ Roberts
*All things Brie Bennett by Red Phoenix (That’s not a book title; I just mean between all the serials, short stories, full length novels, audiobooks, excerpts, teasers…you name it, I love it all if it has that character in it!)
*Anything Erin Noelle, except her Book Boyfriend Series—I’m allowed to say that, because she knows I hate college-aged characters hehehehe! I’m also her editor and she knows I love her; plus, they are USA Today Bestsellers and don’t need any help from me! I’ve only gotten about a third of the way through book one, and she swears I’d like the later books when they grow up more, but I’m too old to read YA/NA drama without wanting to vomit over the immaturity! LOL But every single one of her other books are freaking amazeballs. I’m gonna pimp her out here to make up for my blasphemy: When the Sun Goes Down, As the Dawn Breaks (release date September 15!), Translucent, Conspire— co-written with SE Hall, and Surviving Us (coming VERY soon)   
*And before I read Fifty (when it was first just Twilight fanfiction), I really only read Paranormal Romances. If it didn’t have a vampire, shifter, or other mythical creature in it, I didn’t want anything to do with it. So most of my faves are from Lynsay Sands, Kresley Cole, Sherrilyn Kenyon, Michele Bardsley, Dakota Cassidy, Katie MacAlister, Kerrelyn Sparks, Maggie Shayne…the list goes on.
 
Do you have any strange habits or rituals you do when taking on a new book to read for a requested review?
Not really. I’m a bathtub reader. If it’s a good book, I can be in my tub for HOURS, letting out the cold water and refilling with hot. I’ve stayed locked in my bathroom for 2 days straight before hahaha! Children? What children?

 

I’m an emotional reader.  If I don’t connect with the characters, I struggle reading even the most well-written books.  What is something you feel is necessary in every book you read?
Sex. Lots and lots of sex. Yep, I said it.

 

Hollywood called; they want you to cast the roles for the latest book you reviewed.  What is that book and who would your dream cast be?
Ooooohhhhh yummy! That would be As the Dawn Breaks by Erin Noelle, and Leo would be Noah Mills, and for Trystan, I’d cast…hmmmm…..ME!

 

What was your biggest fan girl (or boy) moment?
Meeting Red Phoenix for the first time after becoming so close to her over Facebook for the past 2 years. I cried.

 

You’ve been selected to travel the universe.  What is the first planet you’d choose to go to?
Mars. It’s where all the boys are, right?

 

You’ve been given the chance to be on any reality television show of your choosing.  Which one would it be and why?
Hoarders. I have a little bit of a swag collecting problem…

 

Where do you see yourself in ten minutes?
In bed listening to hubby snore while I try to read a hot scene…grrrrr hehehe
Now for the fun stuff.
 
Do you possess any unique talents?
Uhhhhh…I can shake my eyeballs. I also have the unique ability to get male models to agree to letting me rip their clothes off. (Thanks, Rob) See video

 

On a scale of 1-10 (one be the least and 10 being the greatest) how big of a book slut are you?
Oh hell…I’ve done so many dirty things to so many different men in my head while reading this stuff it’s a miracle I didn’t conjure up some sort of a disease. Ew. That sounded really gross baaahahaha!

 

Have you ever taken more than one book boyfriend to bed with you?
Do you see how many I have in my bed at the moment? Hell yeah.

 

Do you read naked?
Bathtub reader—guilty!

 

What do you consider is your biggest failure?
That I don’t take the time to finish my own book. I was about 20,000 words in when I got my editing job last September, and haven’t had time to work on it since I’m always busy working on other people’s books!

 

What do you consider is your biggest success?
Nothing tops my girls. They are the funniest little shits in the entire world and bring me so much joy, even though the make me crazy at the same time.

 

What is the biggest lie you’ve ever told?  Were you caught or did you get away with it?
It’s more fun to tell the truth and watch them squirm.

 

Have you ever been frisked by a cop?
A REAL cop? No. Don’t ask.

 

What do you want your tombstone to say?
Morbid much? Hehehe Hmm…. Wow, for the first time, I’ve been stumped. Good job!

 

A radioactive book boyfriend has bitten you and now you have a superpower.  What would it be?
I don’t need to sleep. Lord, what I would do with all those extra hours! That would be fantastic!

 

With your new superpower, you must have a kickass super hero name.  What would you call yourself?
Ummm Opposite-of-Narcoleptic Girl?  Wow, I’m lame. Quit trying to make me be creative!!

 

If you could have any accent in the world, what would you choose?
I randomly slip into different accents all the time, like, literally every day. It confuses the shit out of people who don’t know me. It’s fun to watch.

 

What sexual position have you read about that you would love to try?
There aren’t any I haven’t tried. Seriously. **looking for new ones if you have any suggestions!**

 

Strangest place you’ve had sex?
One of the model sheds outside of Lowes.

 

You see a woman with her skirt stuck in the crack of their ass. Do you tell her or take a picture and instagram that shit?
Nah, I’d just tell her she has a letter in her mailbox.

 

What is your greatest pet peeve that you see authors do?
When they use the word “that” unnecessarily. (^cough, cough)

 

What is your most embarrassing habit?
I don’t really get embarrassed, and I don’t really DO anything that would be embarrassing…hmmmm…there’s gotta be something… OH!! I think I embarrassed the shit out of my husband when we went to see a movie and I squealed like an effing banshee when the Fifty Shades trailer came on the screen. If you thought it was good on your computer monitor, wait ‘til you see it THAT BIG. Jeezus, that elevator scene…le sigh…
Which reminds me of another habit that might be described as annoying, but not really embarrassing. When I see a new show or movie, I obsessively name like EVERY other thing the actors have ever been in. IDK.

 

How often do you masterbate with a book in your free hand?
Well, never…but I do often have to stop editing to have a Hitachi break in the middle of the day. I love my job.

 

Have you ever streaked in a crowded place?
Nope. I model in my undies all the time, but very few people have actually seen me nakey.

 

Have you ever gone skinny dipping?
Yes hehe

 

What is the dirtiest thing you ever looked up on the internet?
An easier question would be what HAVEN’T I looked up on the internet.

 

What animal in the zoo would you be?
I’d like to be one of the otters. They always look like they’re having a blast, and people would always love to come see me swimming around and tell me how effing adorable I am.
kayla
If you were a t-shirt, who would be wearing you?
I’d love to be wrapped around Jared Leto…again. Yep, I said AGAIN.
What is your all-time favorite movie?
Father of the Bride 2

 

What is your all-time favorite song or album?
I’m an Echelon, so it’d be a toss-up between 30STM’s Beautiful Lie, Hurricane, or Queens and Kings…or pretty much anything else from them. Ugh.

 

Name two actors or actresses (or a combination of both) you would want to have a threesome with.
My get out of jail free cards with my husband are Jared Leto and Jensen Ackles, and I have now snuggled up to both. I’m one lucky girl.  
Describe yourself in six words.
Loyal, affectionate, shameless, happy, friendly…ummmm….and hungry haha

 

What is the funniest prank you’ve ever played on someone or had played on you?
I’m not really a prankster, but I did make this really funny Vine, and got caught. Check out the video.
What are three items you can never live without?
Oh hell, my computer, my phone, and my vibrator (whose name is Dean Winchester, and thank GOD I didn’t have my normal word-vomit and tell Jensen that when I met him!)

 

What is your idea of fun?
My life. I pretty much have fun every day, whether it’s a quiet day of editing in my cave, taking my girls to a movie, or at an author event feeling up male models. I feel very blessed to be able to say that.

 

Do you give love a bad name?
Hell no. My husband worships me. I’m kinda the shit.
These next five questions sound dirty but in fact the answers are quite clean.  Let’s see what you come up with.
 
I go in hard and pink and come out soft and sticky.  What am I?
Gum…or a penis.
 
I come in many sizes. When I’m backed up, you blow me and I feel good. What am I?
Uhhhh…I have no idea. You must understand; my mind LIVES in the gutter.
 
When I go down on you, you won’t be happy. If you’re on me, the whole world is your oyster, but be careful, without protection, you might catch something nasty.  What am I?
I’m discovering I’m really terrible at this…
 
I’m at least 6 inches long. I leave creamy white stuff around your lips when engaged in my job. What am I?
Dafuq?
 
All day long it’s in and out. I discharge loads from my shaft. Both men and women go down on me. What am I?
 I quit.
Boxers or Briefs? Boxer-briefs
Facebook or Twitter? Fa-bo
Vanilla or Chocolate? Vanilla
Coffee or Tea? Coffee
Lady Gaga or Katy Perry? Lady Gaga
Beer or Wine? Wine
Big or Small? Small
Tall or Short? Tall
Scruff or Clean Shaven? Scruff
Manscaped or Pleasantly furry? Manscaped!!
Phone sex or Sexting? Sexting
Tattoos or Piercings? Tats
Sex Toys or Fingers? Toys
Dominant or Submissive? Subby
Morning or Evening? Morning
Tequila or Rum? Patron
Robert Pattinson or Jamie Dornan? Rob ❤
 
That’s it for this week’s Blogger Spotlight. Come back next week where I’ll be speaking with Sarah over at Sarah’s Reading Corner.  If you have any bloggers you’d like to see spotlighted, please feel free to fill out the request page, and I will do my best to see to it that they get recognized for all their hard work.
Until next time… Happy Reading!

 

2 thoughts on “Saturday Blogger Spotlight with Kayla of Kayla the Bibliophile

Leave a Reply

