Romance Writer’s Weekly #LoveWriteChat

RomanceAuthorWeekly
Do you like to read romance novels? Wouldn’t you like to know more about your favorite authors? Well you came to the right place! Join the writers of Romance Weekly as we go behind the scenes of our books and tell all…..About our writing of course! Every week we’ll answer questions and after you’ve enjoyed the blog on this site we’ll direct you to another. So come back often for a thrilling ride! Tell your friends and feel free to ask us questions in the comment box.

~*~

Hiya!! Hope to find everyone well.  It’s been a busy week for me so far, but a good one.  If you’re stopping by from Victoria Barbour‘s site, thanks for stopping by, and welcome to all my visitors. This week, the authors of Romance Writer’s Weekly were asked by A.S. Fenichel: Which person, living or dead, relative or stranger, has had the biggest influence on your life/writing career?  Tell us what this person is like or how they shaped you.

 I’ve thought long and hard about this one, and I would have to say, 1. the person is still alive and 2. she is very much a relative – especially since she gave me life.  My mother has and will always be my biggest fan and number one supporter.  When I was about twelve, I tried my hand at writing.  I remember bringing the story to her and letting her read it.  I was so very nervous.  After she read it, she looked at me and smiled.  She told me that it was a wonderful story and encouraged me to flesh it out some more.  I did and later she had me share it with her Sunday School class.  From there I found myself sharing it not only with children but adults.  She bragged to every single person in the church about me and my writing.  I can’t remember what the story was about now, and Lord knows I wish I could find a copy, but I will never forget my mother’s encouragement and pride at my work.

536602_2175400120550_2030033511_nMy story writing took a different direction as I got older.  I found I enjoyed public speaking.   By the time I was sixteen I’d won several speech competitions, which not only required I give a speech but write it as well.  This is a picture of my mother, my sister, and me, after I’d won first prize in a speech competition for my high school.  Yes, I was a bonafide nerd…still am, but no matter what, my mother was proud and supported me.   Come hell or high water, she was there, at every competition – supporting me, encouraging me, and above all, loving me.

When I announced I intended to publish my first short story, I swear the world could hear her squeal all the way from Amarillo.  She demanded that she get the first autographed copy upon its release.  I laughed, but she was serious.  And my mother being my mother got her way.  She had that copy ready for me to sign the moment she saw me, and then read the book cover to cover.

312139_306540759357926_1965618497_nI am blessed beyond measure to have someone like her in my life.  No matter what I’ve faced, she’s always been there for me.  Thick or thin.  And while geography separates us right now, I know beyond a shadow of a doubt that she’s cheering me on every time I sit down to work on my current book(s).

Thanks, Mom, for everything.  I love you!

Thank you all, again, for stopping by.  If you have a moment, make sure to check out author Dani Jace‘s response to this question.

Have a wonderful week.

2 thoughts on “Romance Writer’s Weekly #LoveWriteChat

Leave a Reply

